Urges.

Urges. We all have them at some point in our lives, some of us give in to it, some of us just walk on the safe side and ignore it. Like someone I know who always preaches, The best way to resist temptation is to yield.

I’m not too sure if its applicable for all aspects of our lives, I’ve learnt, often the hard way, that sometimes giving in to temptation isn’t such a good thing after all, and it almost always comes with disastrous consequences.

I know very few happy who have actually gone and done what I’ve been thinking of doing lately. But I’m at a point in my life where change is coming. Whether I like it or not, it is coming hard and fast, and it doesn’t seem to care if I’m prepared or not.

So amidst the craziness of finally facing reality and realising that its time for me to get a job, I’m stuck. There doesn’t seem to be any opportunities walking, strolling, breezing, or even crawling by for me, and I’m beginning to wonder if this is the place for me.

Which is why I’ve been playing with this idea for a couple of months now.

I am thinking of moving.

Moving, out of Singapore, that is.

It sounds crazy, and probably stupid to alot of people. But I’ve been toying with the idea of moving to say, Los Angeles and try to find some meaning in life there. Armed with nothing but a few clothes in a backpack, some money, my credit card (which hopefully I don’t have to use), and my seemingly useless university degree.

I don’t think there is a reason why I might want to do this. I don’t think there is any reason why anybody would want to leave their friends and family behind for a life into the unknown, where I am only a random asian girl in a place full of people I don’t know, cultures I cannot understand, trying to find a way to live.

I don’t have a plan, really. Except that my plan is to probably to get outta here.

When I get there, who knows? Maybe I’ll stay for awhile. Maybe I’ll come back in one month because things just didn’t work out.

But I’ll never know until I take the plunge, would I?

13 Comments

  1. once there was a man called oscar wilde and all he said was, “i can resist anything but temptation.”

    that aside, the idea sounds tremendously fun. let me know when you get there. i’ll follow your footsteps a year later.

  2. haha, well this person i know liked saying that..for some reason..

    anyway yeah if i do do it, i’ll let ya know =)

  3. If it isn’t tempting, it’s probably no fun. I’m sure you are thinking that LA is fun, and there, you have your reason.
    If you don’t have a plan, most likely you won’t do it. Plan it out. I’m sure through the planning process, you can better judge if you should go.

    I’m not sure if I can fit into a luggage bag but I can try. For if you do decide to fly away, let me know. Would be lovely when I come out of the bag, and it’s LA!

  4. Sure, if you can survive the entire journey being cramped into a luggage bag =)

  5. Yup. Go take the plunge. We have enough sheep who follow one another around, so if you really want to do things differently, go ahead. πŸ˜€

  6. therecruiter: are you new? cause I haven’t seen you around =)

    thanks for the encouragement, I will just take the plunge. the questions that remains is when =)

  7. Ahh for the freedom of youth …

    If I had to do it all over again I’d make the same mistakes because of who I am. They might be made with different people, but I am who I am … BUT if I could be someone else I would leave. That was my plan after college .. take off, see the states, work odd jobs here and there to get to the next spot. Instead I met a woman whose plans included me, 2 kids, a house with a picket fence, a dog and a close family. And I liked that idea too … it fit better with who I am. And eighteen years later I’m still married. Some days more happily than others.

    Do you feel as if you are running away? Why? If it’s to seek new/better chances at success and freedom then go for it. If you are doing it because you think it will be better than where you are .. stay there. Life is what you make of it. You have to do the work. You cannot wait for things to come to you. You have to go after them. You have to be willing to make some sacrifices to get what you want. I get the impression you will pursue your dreams and not give up. If that’s true then do it. But one question … why LA?

  8. since oscar wilde is the flavour of the moment, i’ll throw in a quote as well, “the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it”

  9. lerxst: yes the freedom of youth =). i guess my plan for now is kinda like what you had in mind, except that i’m looking for something more permanent than just odd jobs. In a way I do feel like I’m running away, I don’t think its just to seek a better chance at success but really just to see if there are better places for me out there..in a way..I suppose.

    Well LA is just an example. I do have a extremely crazy plan which I’m not sure will work out for me, but I’ll give it a try. At least at the end, I’ll spend a couple of years there and then head off to grad school and get on with the life everyone else has in mind for me.

    I suppose at the end of the day, as long as I’ve taken the step forward to pursue my dreams, it doesn’t matter if I do succeed. What really matters for me is that I was crazy enough to do it =)

    AL: You know that isn’t always true. =P

  10. Seeing that I took a plunge myself today, I’d say GO GET ‘EM, GIRL!

    You never know until you tried at least once at getting what you are aiming for. Life is too short for procrastinating and sitting back and waiting for the cows to come home.

  11. πŸ™‚

    Your plan is more what I would really follow. My plan wasn’t me. It was a wild thought that I knew I would be hard pressed to follow through on. I tend to think things through and work hard to manipulate things to reach MY final conclusion/destination. Just going and doing … not me. Planning, thinking it through, having things in order before I leave .. that’s more like me. Shoot, I can’t go away on vacation without planning out an itinerary … I always have to know where I’m going and when I need to be there. There is always a purpose … for me. Free-flowing … once in a rare while. But most of the time .. I schedule things.

    And don’t give in to what others have planned for you. You are who you are. Be true to that first.

  12. PD: Yep I so agree =)

    Lerxst: yeah i think there really is no point in giving in to other people. and funny how that is the exact same thing i was telling another friend just yesterday night =)

    But as life would always have it, the moment you have a wonderful plan set in place and you’re all prepared to take the plunge, things start to look different. I might have a job opening that right now is pretty irresistable since its kinda like my thing to do, so I wouldn’t really know for sure until the end of the year it seems. =)

  13. moo.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

