Allow me..

to rant.

When people often complain that its hard to find talent in Singapore, I always thought they were being picky. I had no lack of friends who would often hog the microphones during our regular KTV sessions not because they were selfish idiots but because they could sing and they could sing so damn well we just let them take the microphone. I’m sure every other person also had friends who queued for days at Singapore Idol  but didn’t make it. I’m sure you would agree some of them could sing nice enough to make you want to sit and listen.

But today I found out I was proven wrong, very very wrong.

It is very hard to find singing talent in Singapore.

Not because those in charge of picking the fruits are fussy, but because it seems that there are people who just have very low standards of aural beauty.

For example, the halls and societies in the local universities. Everyone who has been an undergrad here, or have had friends study in NUS/NTU/SMU would know that it is almost a tradition for most of the halls to put up a production every year. In fact, I think some of the polys in Singapore and even the JCs might have that too.

In this product, people sing, people dance, people act.

I have never been to any of these productions, but I’m quite certain that most of them are of a pretty good standard since I know people who went to them and gave pretty good reviews. Also because we all know how enthusiastic and overzealous some of these people involved are, hence sometimes the selection and rehearsal process can be stringent and gruelling.

But I guess human perception falters sometimes.

Imagine have a quiet afternoon reading in the library when you’re shocked back into reality by a couple trying to sing in tune with each other, accompanied by a piano.

Sitting through 30 mins of that, I came to the conclusion that whoever was organising some bazaar downstairs must be playing a CD of sorts of some random production, because it just kept going and going and going with no one talking in between but just pure singing.

Unadulterated, straining of voices to keep up with the music and often out of tune.

I usually have very low standards when it comes to music. I’m okay as long as the melody is pleasing, and if the singer can at least try to keep up.

But try sitting through an entire 30 minutes of girls and guys who obviously don’t have the lung capacity required for proper singing, nor the voice texture needed for it try to get through 30 minutes of piano accompanied music, and cheap electronica.

Maybe God was trying to teach me a lesson for being so casual with what I listen to. But I swear I almost tore my hair out and cried out begging for whoever it was to just stop.

It was that bad.

And guess what came on after that?

Britney.

Never in my life I was happier than today to hear Britney come on through the speakers.

7 Comments

  1. Ok, there are only 2 voices I can’t stand: Britney and Rihana. One is trying to sound too damned sweet, the other sings like she’s from KL!

  2. Maybe they’re new to singing as a group heh.

  3. Kian: you should check out the Britney performance at the MTV VMAs..haha..as for Rihanna, well, all I can say to that is…*puts on my best minah accent* amacam brudderrrrrrr…*smirk*

    LE: then don’t sing in public laaa..

  4. Britney’s bodyguard spilled the beans on her nudity problem…but er, given how she looks, I don’t wanna catch conjunctivitis… 😀

    Tell me when Shakira has a nudity problem…I’ll be her personal counsellor!

  5. What does he mean when he says she has nudity issues? Does this mean that she just likes going without underwear or she likes walking around naked?

    Either way I don’t see a problem with that right? Just that I guess if she wants to go around naked she should take extra care when going in and out of cars. =)

    Actually I’m not a big fan of Britney, I don’t think she’s a wonderful singer but its sad that the media cooks up huge storms out of her life. I mean hey, might as well just put her in a cage and moniter her daily activities. I guess in that sense its not really fair. She’s just trying to live her life.

  6. What does he mean when he says she has nudity issues? Does this mean that she just likes going without underwear or she likes walking around naked?

    Either way I don’t see a problem with that right? Just that I guess if she wants to go around naked she should take extra care when going in and out of cars. =)

    Actually I’m not a big fan of Britney, I don’t think she’s a wonderful singer but its sad that the media cooks up huge storms out of her life. I mean hey, might as well just put her in a cage and moniter her daily activities. I guess in that sense its not really fair. She’s just trying to live her life.

  7. hahaha….
    reminds me alot of the getai when i was living in hdb…
    actually not just getai… but some random family having a karaoke system and blasting their sound system as if to show off…. singing ‘Hit me baby one more time..” in keys and tones so OFF that you wish you were deaf…… now thats a classic..


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

