The Mating Game

Music plays a very large part of my life, and I always wanted to get down to writing something on it but somehow it always manages to slip my mind, I’ll make this a really short post for now, because I can’t quite seem to find the right words lately when I’m forming sentences, but there’ll be more to come.

Anyway, I love trip hop. There’s just something about the trippy sounds and vocals that makes you want to lie in bed, or lounge in a corner with a cigarette in one hand and alcohol in another. I know, I have strange tastes.

Lately, I managed to uncover another one of those really great up and coming groups. You know, those who get you hooked the moment you listen to them. I’ve got their album on repeat mode and its so damn good I can’t even pick a favourite song because everything sounds so good.

The sounds of Bitter:Sweet have been used in many commercials and even TV dramas in the US. And everyone is hooked. They are that good. I suspect it has something to do with the laidback vocals of lead singer Shana Halligan, who never fails to inject the kinda “lepak” feeling into any song. The sounds of Bitter:Sweet range from jazz, to downtempo, to trip-hop. Wonderfully addictive.

I think I could put this on repeat mode the entire day.

Dance with me across the ocean floor
Sail away to heaven’s open door
Step right up you’re the next contestant
In this sweet charade
Take a number, wait while I twist your fate

–The Mating Game, Bitter:Sweet

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

