My Love Affair with Coffee

You know how Moms always like to tell us, “When I was pregnant with you, I’d eat..”?

Well, according to my mom, when she was pregnant with me, she had coffee. Lots of it. For no good reason. Then after I was born, as a young toddler, my grandmother would feed me coffee with buttered steamed bread for breakfast. You’d think that having been raised this way, I’d have drunk coffee my whole life.

Not true.

After I started kindergarten I stopped drinking coffee and somewhere in my mind I formed the opinion that Milo was the way to go for a kid my age. Which started my love affair with Milo, which is a another story for another day.

Anyway, after that I stopped drinking Coffee for a long time. The only time I ever had anything with coffee in it was when I frequented Starbucks and Coffeebean as a teenager and had one of their ice blended drinks. I don’t think you’d count that as decent coffee.

I didn’t think I’d start drinking coffee even as I grew older, and as my peers relied on coffee to stay awake. I didn’t hate it, I just didn’t like drinking it.

Until I got to university.

All of a sudden, coffee became a staple in my diet. I had to have coffee to stay awake because I slept very little anyway. After awhile, coffee stopped helping me stay awake. But I still relied on it whenever I needed to do my assignments, especially since alot of my assignments are essay based. The caffeine jolt and the strong aroma never failed to act like a pick-me-up when I was having a block from writing. Eventually, whenever I did my assignments, I needed to sip on a cup of coffee just to help me get my ideas flowing.

I know how this sounds. But really, when the aroma hits your senses, and you savour the warm bittersweet liquid flowing into your mouth, coating every single inch of your taste buds, slipping down your throat, who can resist?

No, I don’t have an addiction problem. šŸ˜‰

2 Comments

  1. face it, when the tough gets down to essaying, only nicotine and caffeine matters.

  2. mark: yeah that’s true but coffee doesn’t keep me awake =P been trying to cut down on nicotine intake, although I’m quite sure in a couple of weeks I would have forgotten what I’ve mentioned here now, especially since I’ve been informed by my good brudder that FS now stocks my favourite brand.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

